Foundation Presentations in Alaska March 2015

Alaska Native Artists Events March 17-18

(VANCOUVER, Wash.) – Alaska Native, American Indian and Native Hawaiian artists are invited to connect with the Native Arts and Cultures Foundation (NACF) at free outreach presentations in Fairbanks and Anchorage March 17-18.

The foundation will be sharing information about how individual artists can apply for the 2015 NACF Artist Fellowship. The annual award recognizes Native artists in the disciplines of performing arts, filmmaking, literature, music, traditional arts and visual arts with a prestigious award and support ranging up to $20,000 per artist.

“We are grateful to the Alaska Native Arts Foundation and to the Native Arts Center at the University of Alaska at Fairbanks for helping us make these events happen,” said NACF Program Officer Andre Bouchard (of Kootenai and Chippewa descent). “We are looking forward to connecting with artists in Alaska who are interested in learning more about applying for this opportunity.”


March 17
3:30 to 5 p.m.
Alaska Native Arts Foundation
500 West 6th Ave, Anchorage

March 18
5:30 to 7 p.m.
Native Arts Center University of Alaska
Room 301, Fine Arts Complex, Tanana Loop and Yukon Dr., Fairbanks

Additional information about the events will be shared via social media at and


2015 NACF Artist Fellowships

DEADLINE: Monday, April 6, 5 p.m. P.S.T.
To apply, artists who are members of federally and state-recognized U.S. tribes, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian communities can review criteria and complete an application at before the April 6, 5 p.m. PST deadline.

The foundation will announce award recipients in August 2015. For questions and technical support, contact Program Officer Andre Bouchard at or (360) 314-2421.

One of the only opportunities in the U.S. of this magnitude dedicated to supporting Indigenous culture makers, the foundation’s national fellowship has been awarded to 41 American Indian, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian artists in past years. Past fellows include filmmaker Andrew Okpeaha MacLean (Iñupiaq), choreographer and dancer Emily Johnson (Yup’ik), carver Israel Shotridge (Tlingit), weaver Teri Rofkar (Tlingit) and visual artists Sonya Kelliher-Combs (Iñupiaq/Athabascan) and Da-ka-xeen Mehner (Tlingit/Nishga). To learn more about the foundation’s mission and artists who have been honored with the award, visit

# # #