NACF Publishes Literary Anthology

We are excited to announce the release of The Larger Voice: Celebrating the Work of Native Arts and Cultures Foundation Literature Fellows. This is the first publication by NACF that highlights the work of many of our National Artist Fellows in literature.  

It has been our pleasure to work with Rena Priest, Washington State Poet Laureate, (Lhaq’temish [Lummi] Nation) as curator and editor of the anthology.  Priest is a Maxine Cushing Gray Distinguished Writing Fellow, and the recipient of an American Book Award, an Allied Arts Foundation Professional Poets Award and fellowships from the Academy of American Poets, Nia Tero, Indigenous Nations Poets and the Vadon Foundation.

“Each of the writers featured in this collection carries the distinction of being named a Native Arts and Cultures Foundation National Artist Fellow in literature. They are recognized for excellence in their work in literature, and their willingness to use their gifts to create offerings of beauty and truth for the benefit of the people,” says Rena Priest.  

“The intention of this collection is to celebrate their voices and to build pathways of understanding and education that will carry their writing to the four corners of the world, reclaiming social narratives around Native cultures and perspectives and highlighting the crucial contributions of contemporary Native writers.” 

The Larger Voice features cover art by Dyani White Hawk (Sičáŋǧu Lakota), a 2017 NACF Mentor Artist Fellow and visual artist.  

The foreword of the anthology was written by U.S. Poet Laureate, Joy Harjo (Mvskoke Nation) who is also NACF’s Board Chair. Elise Paschen (Osage), NACF Board Member and Poet, wrote an endorsement which is featured on the back cover of the book.  

This anthology was made possible with support from the M.J. Murdock Charitable Trust and Engaging the Senses Foundation.

The NACF Literature Fellows included in the Anthology are as follows:  

  • Sherwin Bitsui (Diné) 
  • Laura Da’ (Eastern Shawnee) 
  • Natalie Diaz (Mojave and an enrolled member of the Gila River Indian Tribe) 
  • Heid E. Erdrich (Ojibwe Turtle Mountain) 
  • Kelli Jo Ford (Citizen of the Cherokee Nation) 
  • Santee Frazier (Citizen of the Cherokee Nation) 
  • Linda Hogan (Chickasaw) 
  • Layli Long Soldier (Citizen of the Oglala Lakota Nation) 
  • Mona Susan Power (Enrolled Member of the Standing Rock Sioux Nation)
  • Luci Tapahonso (Diné [Navajo]) 
  • David Treuer (Ojibwe) 
  • Michael Wasson (Nez Perce [Nimíipuu]) 
  • Elizabeth Woody (The Confederated Tribes of the Reservation at Warm Springs, Oregon) 
Verified by MonsterInsights